Affinity Mapping. I literally had no clue what the heck that was until guest speaker Katerina Gorkovenko came into to explain it to us. She described affinity mapping as a research methods to use in a design process. These methods use large pieces of information/data and categorise that into smaller segments so that the insights from the data can be more obvious and understandable. We have to use these research methods for finding insights into our interviews with our first year student.


 Affinity Mapping: 

This was going to be a class task which we would complete together – however the first part of the task was going to be an individual task. We had to go through the transcripts (of our interview) and take about 10-15 quotes or phrases which we could put into certain categories. We would complete the category section of this process as a class. 

“If I’m going out with friends, or at weddings or parties.”  

Chloe Williams said this in my interview when I asked her about when she likes taking photographs. This quite was going to be added into a Social/Events/Settings kind of category in the big group task.img_4813 

Once we had collected all our quotes we came together and added them into categories and analysed as one big group. This is a great way of finding great insights into pieces of data, and once I began to understand how the process worked I began to really like this method of researching. It is a much tidier way of showing what data you’ve collected, instead of having to read through hundreds of words, and filter through what is an insight and what isn’t. I think I would definitely use this method again.  

I feel that as a group project you have lots and lots of quotes to filter through and sub categorise, so I feel this is maybe not the best way to use this method, I feel that if you were to complete this method as an individual and only focus on your information then it would be a lot easier to sort through. I’ve found that as I am going through my own quotes and phrases I don’t have many that would fit into several categories, so I would end up having categories with maybe one or two quotes. This is depending on how much information and data I have gained.

This being said, I feel this would be a great way to collate individual research within a group task, based on the same task. I would look forward to using this method in the future. 

 

 

 

