So we had guest speaker Katerina Gorkovenko come in to talk to us about her experiences with using Thematic Analysis and how we could use this for the data within our transcripts. Using this research method we would be able to find out important quotes which we would be able to use to find insights about our interview.

We started off with a presentation about data analysis and then continued on to actually analyse our own data. The research method seems to be a bit like Affinity Mapping (which I will talk about in my next blog post, as Katerina Gorkovenko had also spoken to us about this today).


Thematic Analysis

Thematic Analysis organises data in a constructive way, allowing the reader to clearly identify different patterns or themes within the data. I decided the best way for me to do this, would be to use highlighters to identify those specific themes I decided I wanted to look at.

IMG_5311

 

I feel this image of thematic analysis of my transcript shows a very colourful display of several themes I focused on. I wanted to look at the facts and opinions of my work so I decided these should be the same colour but different shades (light pink and dark pink) so I was able to make an easy connection to that theme. This was an important factor in my thematic analysis as I was wanting to find out personal information and key quotes to take further, so focusing on this theme was important in my opinion.

I also wanted to focus on social cues within my transcript as my research question focused on the social life of a university student and how that was mixed with photography. So finding out information about a students social life would be essential in my analysing.

I feel that using this research method is great when you are only analysing one or two pieces of data, I think it would be more difficult if you are looking at lots of different data. So for me this method (once I understood how to do it – as I was confused to begin with) would be better for a smaller analysing session.

There are a couple of ways to do thematic analysis. One of which I have spoken about above, the other is another way I had used to work on my project. I feel that using this method is easier to do once you have completed the first highlighting step of the thematic analysis. I started with my quotes which I collected from the thematic analysis I had already done. I then continued from there to make themes and groups.

I then started to create a “backwards mind map” to showcase all of my themes and groups I had created from the quote I had previously collected. This was a great way for me to find out my insights and really helped me create a sense of knowledge on my findings. This therefore helped me have insights which are solid and understandable. From this I created a mind map to help my brain understand all of the data in an easier way.

IMG_5295

IMG_5297

 

All I had to do now was go ahead and edit the film to a good standard, ready for the review day.

