So I have had some time to process my ideas and think about where I want them to take me. I wanted to think of what digital connections I had with people and what they were like. So I started to write down some ideas on what I’d want to talk about in relation to social media. This is a main way I digitally communicate with people, in the same country as me but also in other countries as the internet allows us to have the ability to do so.

img_3368 The above image is a picture of a page from my sketchbook.

I had come up with the title “It’s Not Real Until It’s on Facebook.”

I thought this was a great title for my magazine design Talking Tech. I thought this, as most people around my age tend to jokingly say ‘it’s not real until it’s on Facebook’ so I felt it was an appropriate title to talk about social media and the way we use it to connect with each other.

I wasn’t 100% happy with the content of this idea so I decided it would be a good idea to take time to watch

Sherry Turkle’s TED Talk “Connected, but alone.”

I was able to take some notes and sketches which I’m really pleased with.

img_3365

I found this really helpful when it came to figuring out what I was actually going to be talking about.

In Sherry’s talk she talked about mobile phones changing who we are and customizing our lives. This really interested me and I found it very relatable as so many time we go outside and walk past people on their mobile phones and not engaging with people around them or not taking in the sights around them. It almost seems like we’re changing the way we live to fit our lifestyle around our mobile phones.

And this is what I’m going to talk about in my final magazine design.

I started to take some more notes to show more about the title I was deciding and what the content was going to include.

img_3369

The image above is a picture of some more note taking from my sketchbook.

“Socially Unconnected Together.”

This is the name of my title and I am really excited to write more about it and how I connect connectivity to the content. I feel I have a clear idea of what I want to talk about. I want to talk about how people can be socially together in person and there can be conversations going between people but the people are never actually really focused on what the conversations. They are always focused on what is going on with their social media account or what’s happening online, or who they should text next. Therefore the conversation and social engagement is always broken or separated from what it is normally like.

This made me think of an egg. I know it sounds a bit out there, but once you crack an egg is becomes broken and you then have the ability to split the components of the egg apart. So I feel this would be a great photo to show how the conversation between people can also be broken and separated.

I am excited to see where this will lead me and what I will write about and how I will photograph the egg.

