So I started off researching what an infographic was. As up until we were given this brief, I had never even heard of them. I googled what they were, and I also created a Pinterest board on infographics, so I could do visual research this way, and have a place to go back to, in the process of creating my own infographic. I then had of my information, photographs, sketches on the identity of Dundee laid out in front of me. I used the website http://www.magic.piktochart.com to create a template of what my infographic would look like.

From there, I thought about the information I wanted to include, so I started by including icons to represent the change in identity. I also started my first page, by referencing to m questionnaire, and how long the people I had asked, had actually lived in Dundee. I created a chart from the information. copy-1

I continued to create my infographic, using the colour theme, layout options I had chosen. As I knew I wanted there to be a running theme throughout. As I was going through the process of adding in each block to hold the information in I was beginning to not like the look and layout of my chosen theme. However, I wanted to see the process through, so I continued on, and came up with a final design of my infographic.

new-piktochart_16477075_08dcfed896631fbdd43050b507b108fd24402a3f

I had finished, and still didn’t like the look of the theme throughout the infographic. I review the final image and decided I would take time to reflect on my infographic, and find out what I didn’t like about it. Was there anything I could change to make it more appealing to the eye? Was there more information I could add in about the identity of Dundee? Was there too many icons? Were there not enough?

So I spent time on pinterest looking at more themes, layouts, charts and graphs used, colours, typography. As these were the things I felt were weakest in my infographic. So once I had added some more pins to the board of my account, I went back and slowly started going through my infographic, and changing some aspects.

I changed the background on all of the blocks first, as I felt this would be an important starting place, as I’d be able to think of colours I could use, what typography would work best etc. So by this time I had already got a better idea of what I wanted the colours and theme to look like. So I decided on a paler background, not white, as this was too boring, so I went with an off white yellow colour. This meant I would be able to use any colour theme I wanted, as it wouldn’t blend in with the background – unlike some of the blocks in my last infographic.

copy-2-final

I also wanted the first block to contain the information on what my infographic would be about. From the reflection research I had done, I realised I hadn’t included this information in my first infographic. So I had to ensure this was included in the final design. I then thought through on paper, what information would go where on the infographic, and what order it would be in to look at. As I didn’t want the visual reader to feel like they were jumping about from information in the present to information from the past. So I had a clear plan of what order I wanted the information to be in.

I had liked the graph and chart used to show the information on the people I had spoken to and questioned, so I decided I would just alter the colour theme with these graphs and keep that block the same. I wanted it to look aesthetically improved, so I altered the typography in this block, by creating a difference in the size of lettering to numbers. As I feel this is a good way to catch the reader.

I then wanted to include the information about the history of Dundee, and I had decided I wanted to completely change the layout of this information. So I created my own chart using icons, and typography to show the information more boldly. This created a look which involved the reader, as they had to look closer to find out what the percentage was for, and there for visually drawing the reader in.

I then continued on amending the information and layout I had already added in from previously. I wanted to include more photography in this block, as I had been out into Dundee taking photographs, so I wanted to put them to good use. In doing so, I was led to add in some pictures I had taken over the Summer of the ‘Oor Wullie Bucket Trail’, which in my opinion really identified Dundee over the Summer. So I started adding in some photography of my own, but also from the internet. I feel this was another good way to involve the reader. As I had lots of information on the identity of Dundee today, I wanted this block to be bigger, so it would be more spaced out once all my information was added. I liked the use of icons, so I created another chart using magnifying glasses to create the chart on the identity of Dundee today.

Again, following this through, I kept each block with a separate colour, as I wanted each block to have a coloured theme. So from the beginning I worked my way round the colour wheel, using some colours from each range on each block. On reflection, I feel this was a good idea as it kept the reader’s eye focused, as they were noticing a different block of information to a different colour, so would visually be able to retain the key information linked to a specific colour.

Finally I had the idea of adding a map in the location block, as this showed how big Dundee was in the map of Scotland, but also how big the population was. I wanted this section to be themed green, as I feel population had links to nature, as we are humans populating Dundee. And I wanted the colour to link with the information, about trees being cut down and more buildings being built.

I added in information on the future of Dundee, using imagery taken with my phone, and from Google, as obviously the V&A was in the midst of being built so I went with this idea, of creating a question about what the future of Dundee would look like, by using imagery which would not show a completed full building, rather than a ‘made-up’, sketched look of what the museum would look like once finished.

new-piktochart_16477075_2695ed7d733d1dee330e7e75c446775b96f1b6be

Overall I am very pleased with the final outcome of my infographic. It was something I had never done before, so I am very pleased with how it turned out. Especially after reflecting on the first completed infographic. I am much happier with the changes I made, and feel that by taking the time in the middle to reflect on what I had created, I was given the chance to make it more suitable for what I was being asked to do. I would definitely create an infographic again. I feel on reflection it is an excellent way to visually show pieces of key information.

